Interesting Contrast

To the Red Fort we first went today.  Apparently, that is where the builder of the Taj Mahal resided during his rule, sitting on the famous Peacock Throne.  After a (harrowing) ride in an rickshaw (a bicycle one), we arrived at the Red Fort grounds.

A bicycle rickshaw; note my Hannah's look of extreme distress, while I laugh my way into happy oblivion

A bicycle rickshaw; note Hannah’s look of extreme distress, while I laugh my way into happy oblivion

But as Indian Independence Day is next Saturday, the Red Fort itself was closed off to visitors (they’re setting up for the expected crowds and such).  Ergo, we were resigned to taking a peek from the outside.

In front of the grounds of the Red Fort

In front of the grounds of the Red Fort

The Red Fort

The Red Fort

However, this afternoon was another matter.  We went to an upscale mall in Garguan (a little bit outside of Delhi proper)–it’s basically a giant outlet mall, but with at least five or six storeys, plus three basement levels.  Quite a contrast to the chaos of a bicycle rickshaw in the dusty streets of Delhi.  We joked that the contrasts of the day would make for good essay material.

2 thoughts on “Interesting Contrast

  1. I’m simultaneously laughing and continuing to jiggle from the rickshaw ride (which I assume was a lot like the final leg on the trail into the club which we will experience very shortly; I hope you still have all your teeth.) Keep up the great blog–we’re thoroughly enjoying your adventures!
    Aunt H. and Uncle B.

  2. Hahahaha I love you Joy. I think your sentences are wonderful 🙂 I really enjoy your blog actually, but I just had to comment on your little side note 🙂 That absolutely cracked me up.

Feel free to insult each other, forget your manners, create straw men, ignore empirical data, and commit as many other fallacies as you can, all from the cozy, anonymous protection of your keyboard.

