An Old Friend

Today, I said goodbye to an old friend.  Well, more specifically, a couple of old friends.  I’ve only known them for about seven months, a relatively short period of time, but it seems so much longer.  I’ve covered hundreds of miles with them, traveled many places with them, spent hours upon hours with them.

Yet now our time together is finished.  After staying with me faithfully these few short months, our relationship has become uncomfortable, even painful.  We no longer flow together harmoniously like the chords of Mozart’s symphonies.  Instead, they irritate like an obnoxious, juvenile child pounding on a piano.

This change has saddened me, yet I ought not be surprised.  This has happened to me before.  Not once, not twice, but thrice this has occurred.  It is almost certain to recur often throughout my life.  I should be calloused to such disappointments, but I am not now, and I doubt that I ever shall be.

All said, I must move on.  Change happens.  The old passes by.  The new rushes in.  Life moves on.

I will move on, but I will not forget: my dear Mizuno Wave Inspire 5’s, I’ll miss you on my next run.  I’ll think about days gone by when we could run through the sylvan trails, on the sidewalks of the city, through the “marshes” of the parks.  I’ll remember the happiness, weariness, elation, frustration, and most of all joy I experienced with you.  Though I can replace you with a new pair of shoes, I can never replace the memories I have made.

But I can make new memories.

“Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.”

…and laugh for joy for the things yet to come.

One thought on “An Old Friend

  1. we do move on but as someone said
    “I’ve learned that all a person has in life is family and friends. If you lose those, you have nothing, so friends are to be treasured more than anything else in the world.”

Feel free to insult each other, forget your manners, create straw men, ignore empirical data, and commit as many other fallacies as you can, all from the cozy, anonymous protection of your keyboard.

