“Why Did I Have to Fall?”

I was warming up for the New Year’s Day Resolution Run 5k/Polar Bear Swim (no, I did not go in the forty degree water–I might note that the air temperature was not much more than twenty degrees!) when I saw a little girl crying.  She had tripped and gotten a bit of road burn on her knee, and was wailing for her parents to do something.  Something to staunch the bleeding, to stop the hurting, to make it go away.  Inconsolable, she cried, “Mommy, why did I have fall?”

“Why did I have to fall?”  Isn’t that what we all ask: why did I have to get a paper cut; why did I have to drop that vase; why did I have to lose my job; why did my loved one have to die?  Alternatively: why am I blessed with comfort when so many others suffer poverty; why did I get the promotion rather than my co-worker; why do I have a good family when others live in broken homes?

I have seen something else under the sun: The race is not to the swift
or the battle to the strong,
nor does food come to the wise
or wealth to the brilliant
or favor to the learned;
but time and chance happen to them all.
(Ecclesiastes 9:11 NIV)

Just some things to ponder in this new year.


By the way, the race was great, and if you’re in this area, you should run it next year (no, I won’t judge you if you go in the water…but I still think you’re a degree or two more insane than whatever “normal” is).

Feel free to insult each other, forget your manners, create straw men, ignore empirical data, and commit as many other fallacies as you can, all from the cozy, anonymous protection of your keyboard.

