“Worldview”

“The lens through which we see/approach/interact with the world” (to be read in a sugary, patronizing, Sunday school voice).

As a student in a Christian school, I have had Christian studies, Biblical studies, worldview, religions, and everything-else-spiritual classes coursing through my schedule since I can remember.  I’m not making a value judgement (yet), just stating a fact.  So don’t assume too much from my snarky tone.

Right now, I’m enrolled in a mandatory class called “Worldview Capstone”.  Needless to say, stuffing the whole grade (okay, so there are fewer than sixty students…but still) in the library for a poorly designed and presented class right before lunch every day was not a good choice on the part of the powers that be.  I don’t think I’ve ever heard the whole grade complain about one part of the curriculum so much (Sure, people who have a bad teacher will complain about the teacher, or people who think math is stupid will rant about what tyranny it is that they have to take three years…but the whole grade?  That’s not a good sign.)  The problems in this class are more numerous and expansive than I care to indulge (or than you would care to hear) for now.  But, in short, aside from the course format, the content itself and its presentation causes me a good deal of consternation.

For the next couple weeks, though, we have some relief.  We are blessed to have Dr. Stephen Meyer, a parent at our school, guest lecturing.  He has a B.S. in physics and geology, followed by a Ph.D. in History and Philosophy of Science.  What does this mean?  He can answer the “big questions” from the perspective of an logician and empiricist (He is best known for his support of the intelligent design theory, but that is beyond the scope of this post, and I do not desire to get into a debate about that.  If you want a debate, go watch some of his filmed sessions.  If you want to debate, go be a troll somewhere else.)  Basically, though, two of my classmates summed his guest-lecture series up the best: “This man is a genius” and “I could listen to you speak for hours”.

Why do I bring this up?  A couple of reasons.  First, I think Dr. Meyer is pretty darn awesome, if you haven’t already guessed.  I spent a couple weeks living at his house at one point in time, since my mother was traveling and his daughter was (and still is) in my class.  What did I learn?  He’s incredibly smart, but also has a great sense of humor and is generally fun to be around.  On a deeper level, though, he’s giving a voice to some of my personal struggles:

“The heart cannot embrace what the mind does not accept.”

“All the freshmen took a Western Civ class that was a little bit like Baskin Robbins: you got 31 flavors of philosophy–some Nietzsche, some Freud, some Kierkegaard, and so on.  What was the effect?  [someone in the class: “They became agnostic?”]  Exactly.  It was an information overload: people were confused and didn’t know what to believe.” (paraphrased)

So, I guess that was a heck of a lot of background information (…or just venting) to explain about where I am right now.  Thanks for listening.

One thought on ““Worldview”

  1. Pingback: Worldview, Part II | Joyous Adventures

Feel free to insult each other, forget your manners, create straw men, ignore empirical data, and commit as many other fallacies as you can, all from the cozy, anonymous protection of your keyboard.

