The End

It’s been a crazy past week.

Three days of seven straight hours of senior projects.  (What I thought would be) my last track meet ever.  Last day of school.  American Idiot: The Musical.  Senior breakfast.  Graduation rehearsal.  Evening of honors.  Graduation.  Three graduation parties.  Church.  Three more graduation parties.  Two job interviews.  Praxis (Ironically, it was all the adults who looked like they were about to doze off, while my friend from school and I were quite awake.  I guess sitting in class for six hours a day does help with focus…).

All topped off with eleven hours of sleep plus a three hour nap.

It’s really weird; thirteen years of my life just vaporized over the course of about two hours.  All the relationships, the ethos, the little oddities and quirks about the school, the goodwill points with faculty/staff/administration–they’re all just memories now.  There are some people whom, most likely, I literally will never see again.  And it’s funny: I always assumed that when I graduated, I would be glad to get away from the people but perhaps miss the academic environment a little bit.  I’m pretty sure I’m going to miss the people more a lot more than I thought: my peers, some more than others, but especially some of my teachers.

Another funny thing: “real” adults want me to call them by their first names.  This seems incredibly awkward, and not just because my memory occasional fails and I cannot actually recall their first names.  There are some adults I’ve always called by their first names, and that’s totally fine, but for those who suddenly start signing their emails with their first name, presumably because they are no longer my teacher/coach/other-person-of-authority…it’s just awkward.

I guess the summary of this post is: I’M NOT READY TO GROW UP.

Feel free to insult each other, forget your manners, create straw men, ignore empirical data, and commit as many other fallacies as you can, all from the cozy, anonymous protection of your keyboard.

