Week 1: Love

For the next nine weeks, I’m going to focus on the fruit of the Spirit, one for each week.  In part, this really is just me trying to find a way to press through school until spring break (eight weeks until then plus spring break week itself).  (I even marked them in my planner.  In purple pen.  And in cursive.  I never write in purple pen.  Or cursive.)  It’s not just about me trying to be a more moral person, because as we all know, that rarely works.  Sure, I want to love people more, be patient with them more, be more gentle with them.  But I also want to know God more.  If those are the fruits of His Spirit, perhaps by focusing on them and their Source, I will become more like the Source.  Perhaps I will grow nearer to the source.  I pray that in this time, He would pour Himself and His fruits into me.  In the end, it’s all about Jesus.

 The acts of the flesh are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God.

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit. Let us not become conceited, provoking and envying each other.

~Galatians 5:19-26

Ergo, this week I’m focusing on Love.  I wrote about Love last year for Valentine’s Day (aka SAD, or Singles’ Awareness Day), and I’m not sure I have a lot more to add to that.  I will say that in the past year or so, I’ve come to experience love more deeply than I have in the past.  I’ve known I was loved by people, but I’m just starting to learn how to reciprocate.  I guess it’s kind of like how it is with God: “We love because He first loved us.”  I still need to work on giving, rather than just taking, in relationships.  Also on loving people who don’t love (or like) me.  And on loving people I don’t always like, even if they love me.  Basically, I need to work on loving everyone.

“To love another person is to see the face of God.” ~Les Miserables, Victor Hugo

One thought on “Week 1: Love

  1. Pingback: Loving God, Loving People | Mind of a Science Nerd

Feel free to insult each other, forget your manners, create straw men, ignore empirical data, and commit as many other fallacies as you can, all from the cozy, anonymous protection of your keyboard.

