Week 5: Kindness

Well, we’re halfway there (cue Bon Jovi).  In my journey through the Fruit of the Spirit, anyhow.  I must admit, I’ve lost my focus a bit.  I find myself thinking of the fruit of the week less and less as time goes on.  Unfortunate this past week, because I really do need to work on patience.  I think I’m better at it than I was, say, a year ago, but in no way am I a patient person.

But as for this week, I think I’ll define the trait in terms of other people’s kindness to me.  Kindness is the people who hold doors open, the people who ask how you are and really mean it, the people who listen not because they have to but because they care, the people who love people they don’t like, the people who give spontaneous hugs, the people who are slow to anger, the people who are willing to give themselves to help others.  I think the thing that differentiates love and kindness is that love is the innate characteristic, while kindness is one expression of love, both for people to whom we are close and for humanity as a whole.

One tangible example: today, one of my friends at church got baptized, and his parents drove over from Chicago.  The college students went out for lunch after the service, as we usually do, except there were about twice as many people since a number came to see the baptism.  The parents covered the whole meal: dim sum (Yeah, smart, going to a dim sum restaurant on Lunar New Year, right?) for at least twenty people.  His parents were twenty people’s favorite people in the world.  They had no reason to do that–I don’t even know their son that well, and I’ve certainly never met them before.  But that’s one thing I like about the Asian culture.

But yeah.  This post is kind of rambling because I stayed up until 4:00 am on Friday night at my other church’s women’s retreat, I had two exams last week and one this week, and I want to go to bed.

Feel free to insult each other, forget your manners, create straw men, ignore empirical data, and commit as many other fallacies as you can, all from the cozy, anonymous protection of your keyboard.

