We ♥ Boston

If you recall the New Yorker cartoon I shared at the end of yesterday’s post (included again below in case you didn’t see before), I just wanted to share a reader’s comment from the image posted on The New Yorker’s Facebook page:

“Sweet cartoon.
We can love Boston and love the people, and stand with them…
Doesn’t mean we need to like the BOSOX.
About midday on 9/11 +1, I was walking on a side street on the Upper West Side in Manhattan when a pickup truck pulled over next to me. The driver leaned out, waved a ham of a forearm at me, and asked how to find the Javits Center, where rescuers were mustering. As I gave directions, I saw the truck, with three guys in front and four more and gear in the back, was Boston FD. They’d left at dawn and driven straight through, but got a bit lost right at the end of the journey.
Damn, I said, thanks… got choked up and all as they started off….
Then I remembered: “WE CANNOT LET TERRORISTS CHANGE WHO WE ARE!!!” Or something like that was in my head.
So I shouted, “HEY!… Good luck, guys… but the Red Sox STILL SUCK!” All four guys in back gave me enthusiastic and grinning Beantown variations of the finger. I waved bye.
Thanks again, Boston. Love you for that. Forever. And I hope now NYC gives whatever aid Boston needs.
But however the Big Apple helps, we cannot ask Boston to love the Yankees. There are some things even scum-of the-earth terrorists, wherever they are from, and whatever their intent, can never, ever change.”
~Thomas R Lansner

BostonMarathon2013_01

Feel free to insult each other, forget your manners, create straw men, ignore empirical data, and commit as many other fallacies as you can, all from the cozy, anonymous protection of your keyboard.

