What Happens When Scientists Cook

After all the bad things that happened this week, I thought I’d post something on a lighter note.  One of the grad students in the lab that I work in had her doctoral thesis defense on Friday (of course, she passed).  Afterwards, the lab had a celebration for her, complete with Chinese food prepared by our honorary lab mothers (two of the staff scientists).  What happens when a bunch of microbiologists throw a party?

"Quick, someone take a picture: Maggie is cutting up cilantro with a scissors while wearing a lab coat and gloves!"

“Quick, someone take a picture: Maggie is cutting up cilantro with a scissors while wearing a lab coat and gloves!”

"Are the oranges *supposed* to look like DNA?" ~Everyone

“Are the oranges supposed to look like DNA?” ~Everyone

This is why I love scientists.  Also, in a more general sense, why I love where I work.  When I was first interviewing at the lab, the PI told me, “We’re really just like one big family.”  I was a little skeptical, but it’s actually true.  I’m so blessed to be able to say that going to work is actually one of the highlights of my week.  I love my job ♥

Feel free to insult each other, forget your manners, create straw men, ignore empirical data, and commit as many other fallacies as you can, all from the cozy, anonymous protection of your keyboard.

