Merry Linksmas

I promise I’ll work on the titles.  Also, sharing something doesn’t necessarily mean agreeing with it, just thinking that it’s an interesting/thought-provoking argument.

*articles that consume from your monthly quota from that publication are marked with an asterisk

Tuba Christmas

Tuba Christmas (Living St. Louis, Nine Network): Yup, Tuba Christmas gets an entire heading of its own.  Events consisting of musicians playing instruments in the tuba family in public spaces are held nationwide in December.  See video from local PBS station for more history and some music.

Tuba Christmas 2016 at Galleria Mall (Brian Siegfried, Youtube): You can’t quite see me (I’m hiding by the escalator), but here’s the entire video of the performance in which I played.  This has been one of my favorite Christmas-time events since I moved to St. Louis (I didn’t learn of them until the end of senior year in high school, so I never played at the Seattle one).

Things That Might Seem Obvious but We Should Still Study

Military-Trained Police May Be Less Hasty To Shoot, But That Got This Vet Fired (Quil Lawrence & Martin Kaste, NPR)

Patients Cared For By Female Doctors Fare Better Than Those Treated By Men (John Henning Schumann & Sarah-Anne Henning Schumann, NPR)

History is a Circle

Trump isn’t Hitler. But the United States could be another Germany* (Richard Cohen, Washington Post)

What Makes Today’s America Different From the Country That Incarcerated the Japanese? (Emma Green, The Atlantic)

LGBT Issues

When Eve and Eve Bit the Apple(Kristen Scharold, The New York Times): I’ve heard iterations of this story over and over.  Honestly, I don’t know where I stand theologically on this; I’ve heard so many good arguments (and plenty of bad ones too) from both Side A and Side B that I don’t think I’m any farther along than when I started thinking.  (Sometime, I hope to put up a list of reading from both “sides” that I’ve appreciated).

‘Don’t Sneak’: A Father’s Command to His Gay Son in the 1950s (Nadine Ajaka & Patrick Haggerty, StoryCorps/The Atlantic): Animated short published by StoryCorps.

Words Matter

Unfollow: How a prized daughter of the Westboro Baptist Church came to question its beliefs* (Adrian Chen, The New Yorker): Highly recommended.  Possible spin aside, it makes a good point about the value of social media and honest, thoughtful (gasp) communication.

BuzzFeed’s hit piece on Chip and Joanna Gaines is dangerous (Brandon Ambrosino, The Washington Post)*: I’ve been saying this for years.  “Conservatives,” you aren’t guiltless; “liberals,” you aren’t guileless; everyone, be nice because one day when you aren’t seen as the victimized minority (or aren’t the empowered majority), the other side will use the same dirty tactics on you.  Also, I think this is a case of the extremes of both sides being the loudest and drowning out all the “regular folks” in between.

Feel free to insult each other, forget your manners, create straw men, ignore empirical data, and commit as many other fallacies as you can, all from the cozy, anonymous protection of your keyboard.

